Default Image


Department of Anaesthesiology was started in the year 1999 with four faculty members and currently the department has grown under the leadership of Dr. Harish Hegde, as Professor and H.O.D with 23 staff members and 9 postgraduates intake per year. The department collectively manages the patient care in the operation theatre, intensive care unit, Emergency medicine department As well as the Pain and Palliative Medicine department. Both faculty and postgraduates are involved in teaching programmes, research and extension activities which are helpful to the society.


  • To offer excellent teaching programme for postgraduate students of Anaesthesiology
  • To provide quality patient care both during surgery and outside operation theatre
  • To provide continuing medical education for anaesthesia students and faculties
  • To orient postgraduate students to research methodology
  • To provide CPR training to undergraduate and postgraduate student
  • To teach CPR to school children and paramedical staff

Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate: MBBS – Phase III, Part – I - 150 seats / year
  • Postgraduate: M.D. in Anaesthesiology - 9  seats / year