Default Image

Obstetrics & Gynecology

The department of OBG was established in the year 1999. Dr. Latha Sharma was the first HOD of the department who was instrumental in developing the department. Dr. Usha Sadasivan took over as the HOD of the department in the year 2003, who further steer headed the progress of the department. The first batch of under graduates passed out in the year 2004. The result was 97%. Post graduation course was introduced in May 2005 with an intake of 2 seats per year. Enhancement to 4 seats per year was done in May 2006. In the year 2006, August Dr. Bharathi Baliga took over the department as HOD. The first batch of postgraduates passed out in 2008. The result was 100%. Dr. Raja Gopal K is heading the department since December 2009. Now postgraduate intake is 6 seats per year.



  • To extend services to high risk obstetric cases, advanced malignancies and repeatedly failed infertility cases.
  • To improve research and publications
  • To provide cutting edge technology in diagnosis and management
  • To actively participate in the National Program for birth control


Courses Offered

  • Undergraduate - 150 seats / year
    • MBBS Phase-II (III, IV,V)
    • MBBS Phase-III Part-I (VI)
    • MBBS Phase-III Part-II (VIII, IX)
  • Postgraduate: M.S. degree in OBG - 6 seats / year
  • Ph.D